Using Adobe Reader X, how do I turn off the prompt to save changes when closing a document?

Upon closing Adobe Reader X, the prompt is presented to save changes to the document (whether or not changes were made). I am seeking to bypass this prompt and would hope there is an option to turn this annoying feature off.


Jeremiah Joseph


3 Answers

Are you sure there there is no JavaScript running within the PDF to modify a read only field or some other property? If so there is a document property "dirty" that indicates to Acrobat/Reader that the PDF has been changed in some manner and since that change has not been saved and to prompt the user about saving the changed PDF. A knowledgeable developer should have set this property to "false" after making their change during the opening of the PDF.


George Kaiser   

See this page, itme #3 for the solution, which is on the side of the PDF creator. Nothing the customer can do on his own.

http://www.system-designs.com/AdobeReader9.htm


Doonser Barrymore   

To fix your form for all users of your form,

For the "Will Close Action" add the following script:

this.dirty = false;

If you have a page open or document level script that modifies a field, then place the above code after you modify the field.


George Kaiser   


Please specify a reason: